How can I help you?

Social media has become such a powerful tool in this century – but unfortunately it’s often used for trivial things like sharing what kind of sandwich you just ate or arguing about grammar. I almost abandoned my facebook account last week because I was so tired of seeing bad news, gripes, and pointless arguments. It had gotten to the point where I wondered whether social media was really enriching my life or just helping me procrastinate.

Then I experimented. I asked my friends what was going on in their life that was GOOD. A 40 comment thread followed, with multiple friends sharing their good news, congratulating others on their good news, and interacting with people they didn’t know in a POSITIVE way. We even jointly helped a friend pick out a name for her soon-to-be son! I know this probably wasn’t a hugely profound experience for many involved, but it renewed my sense of the good that digital interaction is capable of providing, but doesn’t always deliver on. I’d like to see more interactions like that, and I’m changing the way I use social media to facilitate it. I’d like to use my social media presence for something good. So many of my friends have shown support for this blog and for me personally through social media, and so many of my friends are out there pursuing their dreams as artists, musicians, and entrepreneurs and using facebook/twitter/etc. as a big part of it. They inspire me every day with what they do to follow their passions. I’d like to start off by using my social media reach to help those friends of mine. If there is something you’d like me to share with my friends/followers/readers that will help make your dreams come true or support your cause, I would love to pass the word along for you.

As a disclaimer, there are limits to what I will share. I will not violate the trust of my friends by recommending something that I don’t believe in. My friends know my personality, values, and convictions so I don’t envision any problem with this (we are friends for a reason, after all!) but I just wanted to make sure it was stated. I also don’t want this blog or my facebook/twitter/google+/linkedin/other TBD social media to become one big advertisement for my friends – that defeats the purpose of trying to help because it dilutes the message and people will tune it out, so I can promise my friends that I will NOT make these kinds of updates constantly. But at least once a week I’d like to help my friends out by sharing something that they’re passionate about with the world.

First come, first serve – how can I help share your passion with the world? It can be sharing your blog/website/portfolio/music with my friends on a social network or connecting you to someone I may know who’s influential in the topic you’re passionate about, and anywhere in between. Send me a message in one of my many social media or email inboxes and let’s get started! Don’t be shy, and pay it forward for others if you can. I encourage ALL of my friends, even if they are not particularly interested in the particular topic of a post, to check them out anyway – even if you’re not in love with the topic, some of these folks are so in love with it they can make you love it, and if not they can inspire you to pursue what you love.

Leave a Reply

