The Mission Statement

Since my post about personal values and guiding principles, I’ve been wrestling with my personal mission statement. Like a good little MBA graduate, I wanted it to have the classic elements of a good mission statement (Thanks, Dr. Parente), like my purpose, my “key stakeholders,” and “my business.” It also needed to reflect my values and my guiding principles so there is line of sight from my mission statement to the core of what makes me tick. So, after laying the groundwork for the values I ran through some exercises to put the foundation of a mission statement together. I dug through my MBA toolbox and started a stakeholder analysis. I won’t bore you with the details, but ultimately I ended up with the stakeholders you see in the mission statement (family, friends, community).

So, here is the result of more balled up note cards and post it notes than I care to admit:

Personal Mission Statement

I am on this earth to make a positive difference in the lives of others. I will bring joy, loyalty, and friendship to those who know me. I aspire to be worthy of the respect and admiration of my friends, family, and community. I will use my skills and knowledge to improve the quality of life as we know it today.

Short and sweet. It addresses the people who are important to me, contains elements of all my values and personal guidelines, and serves as a constant reminder that I’m on this earth for a reason. It’s very broad reaching, but I think that’s good because I don’t want to set limits on what I can do. Of course, this can and will be revised, just like a company’s mission statement, as I grow personally and professionally. I’ll probably have a wave of ingenious in the middle of the night several months from now and rework this again, but for now I’m pretty happy with the way this turned out.

I strongly suggest everyone go through the values, guidelines, and mission statement exercise. It really adds perspective and helps you get to know yourself.

Leave a Reply

